A better tomorrow is possible: Management (B. A.)

  • Marketing (MA)
  • Media Communication (MC)
  • Arts & Entertainment (AE)
  • Event (EV)

Would you like a degree in line with your values, which helps you assume responsability for a better future? If so, the Bachelor of Management with the possible specializations of Marketing, Media Communication, Arts & Entertainment, or Event could be right for you.

The features of the Karls: 01. Personalized focal point 02. Focus on practical experience + Company projects 03. Language courses + Study abroad semester 04. Friendly atmosphere + Friendly professors 05. Small class size + Interactive lectures 06. Personal development

Interview with Dr. Dr. Prof. Björn Bohnenkamp

Visit profile

# What about contemporary management makes it so relevant and interesting?

We are starting to recognize that the division between the study of culture and the study of Business or Management doesn't seem to work. There is a need for people who organize events, or who work in communications or the arts to also have a firm grasp of Management. At the same time managers have to learn that they won't get far without an understanding of cultural processes. An example of this would be in marketing, where an understanding of symbols, rituals, and communities can spell success for products in a way which prices or quality cannot.

# What makes a Management degree at the Karls special? 

Our Curriculum is not only, as it is the case with most private universities of applied sciences, a hodgepodge of currently trending topics. But our teachings are contextualized and forge a cross-connection, both of which foster independent thinking within our students: Even when it comes to critically questioning the effects that management has on the natural environment or society.

# What is especially important to you when working with students?

I always try to deliver a holistic view to students in teaching so that they can easily pick up the logic behind supply and demand, behind culture and technology. Of course they also learn about the effect which digitalization has on communication, events, marketing and culture, but it is more important that they develop the proper qualifications needed to assess the next big innovative developments in these fields.

About Dr. Dr. Prof. Björn Bohnenkamp

Dr. Dr. Professor Bohnenkamp is the head of the bachelor degree of Management at the Karlshochschule. It is his accumulated experience and research in the fields of media, marketing, and culture, as well as his work as a coach within these industries which guides the development of his interactive lectures and provides the educational basis which he hopes to pass on within his courses.

Nele Menkel on the Student Group "Karlstainable"

More about Karls Initiatives

Karlshochschule has an aim to “Rethink Management and Society” - and that implies, of course, that the topic of sustainability is of special significance for our Uni. One of the main factors in trying to make Karls a greener, fairer and more diverse place is the student initiative Karlstainable

I joined the initiative in my first semester at Karls and now, one and a half years later, I couldn’t be happier to be a part of such a motivated, creative and colorful team!

The aim of our work is twofold: On the one hand, we explore, promote and support a more sustainable lifestyle in- and outside of Karls by means of different events (such as our yearly sustainable Christmas market - with Glühwein and waffles of course ;-) ). On the other hand we tightly cooperate with the university administration in our constant search for ways to make the Karls itself more sustainable.

This means that we are pursuing changes in the university’s infrastructure. Our latest achievement in this regard are the trash cans that you can see in every room of Karlshochschule: Thanks to our “waste management” project group Karlshochschule now enjoys the full package of exemplary waste separation - new bins and user’s instructions included. But of course we already have new projects in mind: In the next semester we want to support Karls in finding the greenest and fairest provider available for the management of both its energy and finances. 

These are small steps on our way to a university in which sustainability is not only deeply rooted in the everyday practices of its members, but also institutionally established. But for me, each of these steps means more than supporting the environment: It means helping my university to become a more vivid place, learning a lot and having a lot of fun with those who want to do the same.

About Nele Menkel

Nele is studying International Relations in the fourth semester. In her studies she tries to understand how the big global picture is shaped by many small actions that people take every day. As a member of the student initiative Karlstainable, she applies that knowledge and fosters sustainability with other students on many different levels.

#PeopleOfKarls: More stories

The Producer

Vocation instead of Career: Lee explains how he found his inner-film producer at the Karlshochschule. What's inside you?

Learn more ...

The Employer

Your dream-job doesn't need to stay a dream. Jana illustrates just how much practical experience a bachelor at the Karls contains. What do you dream of?

Learn more ...

The Bridgebuilder

Interested in studying in Germany? Lan Anh explains how she lays out the path for candidates interested in studying at the Karlshochschule. Are you ready to break ground?

Learn more ...

The Storyteller

For Alex, his degree at the Karlshochschule is a stage for ideas and stories. Would you like to tell your story?

Learn more ...

The Changemaker

Every movement starts with a single step. Pareesha describes the changes her country of Malaysia is undergoing. What moves you?

Learn more ...

Voices from the Karls

Oliver - International Marketing Management

Coming from a multicultural background, I find studying, thinking and creating in an environment as diverse as Karlshochschule to be a real blessing. I've never been one to fall when I can jump and at a place like the Karls you certainly learn how to jump high.

Aakash - Intercultural Management & Communication

Everything here is so international and it's like you can experience the whole world.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Great place to teach, great place to think, great place to discuss the future of our society.

Cornelius - Intercultural Management & Communication

I believe that culture has become an integral part of today's economy. Through my studies I was able to develop personally and professionally.

Nico - International Media Management

In today's digitized world we are incredibly sensitive to media content and the media makers and managers need an international perspective on the subject.

Paul - Politics, Philosophy & Economics

What are the interests of politics? What motives the economy? And how can human thought and action be explained? I've always been interested in questions like that.

Svenja - International Relations

When I first thought of International Relations, I used to think of a very theoretical approach. But here at Karls that is not the only thing we do. The focus lies on team work and critical thinking, learning by doing and questioning everything in the process.

Nur - Arts & Cultural Management

Cosy, familiar, creative, productive and practice-oriented - that is my everyday university life.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do the tuition fees work? How are student slots awarded at the Karls?

To our FAQ

Admission Service

More information

Application

Apply now for the next course in March 2019 with the code "GoKarls"!

All information

Ein besseres Morgen ist möglich: Management (B. A.)

  • Marketing (MA)
  • Event (EV)
  • Arts & Entertainment (AE)
  • Media Communication (MC)

Möchtest Du im Einklang mit Deinen Werten studieren und Verantwortung für eine bessere Zukunft übernehmen? Dann ist der Management-Bachelor mit den Spezialisierungen Marketing, Media Communication, Arts & Entertainment oder Event vielleicht genau das Richtige für Dich.

Deine Vorteile an der Karls: 01. Persönliche Schwerpunkte 02. Praxisbezug + Unternehmensprojekte 03. Sprachkurse + Auslandssemester 04. Tolle Atmosphäre + Profs auf Augenhöhe 05. Kleine Lerngruppen + interaktive Lehre 06. Persönlichkeitsentwicklung

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Zum Profil

# Wieso ist das Studium Management gerade in der heutigen Zeit so relevant und interessant?

Wir merken mehr und mehr, dass die Trennung zwischen Kulturwissenschaften auf der einen und BWL oder Management auf der anderen Seite so nicht funktioniert. Menschen, die heute Events organisieren oder im Kommunikations- und Kulturbereich arbeiten, müssen gleichzeitig Ahnung von Management haben. Und genauso müssen auch Manager lernen, dass sie ohne ein Verständnis für kulturelle Prozesse nicht weiterkommen – das merkt man beispielsweise im Marketing, wo Symbole, Rituale und Communities für den Erfolg vieler Produkte viel wichtiger sind als der bloße Preis oder eine gute Qualität. 

# Was ist das Besondere am Management-Studium an der Karls? 

Unsere Curricula sind eben nicht nur ein Sammelsurium aktueller Trendthemen, wie das vielleicht bei anderen privaten Hochschulen der Fall ist. Wir erklären die Dinge im Kontext, stellen Querverbindungen her und bringen Studierende zum Hinterfragen – vor allem zum kritischen Nachdenken über die Auswirkungen von Management auf Umwelt oder Gesellschaft. 

# Was ist Ihnen in der Zusammenarbeit mit den Studierenden besonders wichtig?

Ich versuche immer, den Studierenden einen ganzheitlichen Blickwinkel beizubringen – dass sie ein Gespür für die Logiken von Angebot und Nachfrage, von Kultur und Technologie bekommen. Klar lernen sie hier auch, wie sich die Digitalisierung auf Kommunikation und Events, Marketing und Kultur auswirkt – aber sie bekommen vor allem das Rüstzeug, um den nächsten großen Innovationen bestmöglich zu begegnen.

Über Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Prof. Dr. Dr. Bohnenkamp ist Leiter des Bachelor Studiengangs Management an der Karlshochschule. Durch seine Tätigkeit als Coach und seine Forschungsprojekte in den Bereichen Medien, Marketing und Kultur hat er vielfältige Erfahrungen gesammelt, die er nun in interaktiven Vorlesungen an seine Studierenden weitergibt.

Nele Menkel über die Initiative "Karlstainable"

Zu den KarlsInitiativen

Das Motto der Karlshochschule ist "Rethinking Management and Society" - und das bedeutet natürlich, dass das Thema Nachhaltigkeit für unsere Uni von besonderer Bedeutung ist. Einer der Hauptakteure, um die Karls zu einem umweltfreundlicheren, gerechteren und vielfältigeren Ort zu machen, ist unsere Initiative Karlstainable.

Schon seit meinem ersten Semester an der Karls arbeite ich in der Initiative mit und heute, anderthalb Jahre später, könnte ich mir kaum etwas Besseres vorstellen, als Teil eines so motivierten, kreativen und bunten Teams zu sein!

Unsere Arbeit konzentriert sich auf zwei Aspekte: Zum einen erforschen, fördern und unterstützen wir einen nachhaltigeren Lebensstil innerhalb und außerhalb der Hochschule durch verschiedene Veranstaltungen (z.B. unseren jährlichen nachhaltigen Weihnachtsmarkt - mit Glühwein und Waffeln natürlich ;-) ). Andererseits arbeiten wir eng mit der Universitätsverwaltung zusammen, um die Karls selbst nachhaltiger zu machen.

Das bedeutet, dass wir Veränderungen in der Infrastruktur der Uni in Angriff nehmen. Unsere neueste Errungenschaft in dieser Hinsicht sind die Mülleimer, die man in jedem Raum der Karlshochschule sehen kann: Dank unserer Projektgruppe "Abfallwirtschaft" steht der Karlshochschule heute das gesamte Paket einer beispielhaften Mülltrennung zur Verfügung - inklusive neuen Abfallbehältern und entsprechenden Bedienungsanleitungen für die Studierenden. Aber natürlich haben wir mittlerweile bereits neue Projekte im Sinn: Im nächsten Semester wollen wir die Karls dabei unterstützen, den umweltfreundlichsten und fairsten Energie- und Finanzdienstleister zu finden.

Dies sind kleine Schritte auf dem Weg zu einer Hochschule, in der Nachhaltigkeit nicht nur tief im alltäglichen Leben ihrer Studierenden, sondern auch in der Institution selbst verwurzelt ist. Für mich persönlich bedeutet jeder einzelne dieser Schritte mehr als die Umwelt zu unterstützen: Es bedeutet, meine Hochschule lebendig zu machen, dabei Neues zu lernen und gleichzeitig viel Spaß mit Leuten zu haben, die das Gleiche tun wollen.

Über Nele Menkel

Nele studiert International Relations im vierten Semester an der Karlshochschule. Durch ihr Studium versucht sie zu verstehen, wie sich aus vielen kleinen Handlungen von unterschiedlichen Menschen ein großes, globales Bild ergibt und wie somit das Verhalten einzelner zu globalen Veränderungen führen kann. Seit 2017 engagiert sich Nele in der studentischen Initiative Karlstainable und wendet dort ihre Erkentnisse aus dem Studium ganz praktisch in Projekten mit anderen Studierenden an.

#PeopleOfKarls: Weitere Geschichten

The Producer

Berufung statt Beruf: Lee erzählt dir, wie er an der Karls herausgefunden hat, dass ein Filmproduzent in ihm steckt. Was steckt in dir?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Employer

Dein Traumjob muss kein Traum bleiben. Jana zeigt dir, wie hoch der Praxisanteil im Studium an der Karls ist. Wovon träumst du?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Bridgebuilder

Interessiert an einem Studium in Deutschland? Lan Anh erzählt, wie sie Studienanwärtern den Weg an die Karlshochschule ebnet. Bereit, aufzubrechen?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Storyteller

Für Alex ist das Studium an der Karls eine Bühne für Ideen und Geschichten. Du möchtest deine eigene Geschichte erzählen?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Changemaker

Jede Bewegung nimmt irgendwo ihren Anfang. Pareesha berichtet, wie sich die Dinge in ihrer Heimat Malaysia verändern. Was bewegt dich?

Mehr erfahren ...

Voices from the Karls

Charlotte - Internationales Medienmanagement

Hier an der Karls arbeiten wir in erster Linie immer wieder in Teams und Gruppen und zwar oftmals an konkreten Projektaufträgen. Ich denke, das bereitet einen ziemlich realistisch auf das spätere Berufsleben vor. Auch die Möglichkeit, sich neben den Vorlesungen bei Hochschulprojekten einzubringen, finde ich spannend und wertvoll.

Isabella - Kunst- und Kulturmanagement

Neben meinem Studium des Kunst- und Kulturmanagements arbeite ich in der Hochschulkommunikation mit. Hier habe ich die Möglichkeit, in verschiedenen Projekten mitzuarbeiten und meine Ideen einzubringen. Es macht mir großen Spaß, die Hochschule mit meiner Kreativität bereichern und mitgestalten zu können.

Hauke - Interkulturelles Management und Kommunikation

Das Besondere an der Karlshochschule ist für mich, dass mir viele verschiedenen Perspektiven auf ein Thema oder eine Kultur gezeigt werden. Der Mensch steht hier tatsächlich im Mittelpunkt, ich lerne, mich mit deren Vielfalt auseinanderzusetzen und die Welt durch verschiedene Augen zu sehen.

Saranda - Internationales Eventmanagement

Mir gefällt das Studium an der Karlshochschule, weil es so vielseitig und komplex ist. Am Ende werden wichtige Weichen gestellt, um später einmal erfolgreich zu sein. Vor allem lerne ich wie man Menschen zusammenbringt und begeistert, egal ob geschäftlich oder privat.

Nur - Kunst- und Kulturmanagement

Gemütlich, familiär, kreativ, produktiv und praxisorientiert – das ist mein Hochschulalltag an der Karlshochschule. Hier habe ich Spaß und fühle mich wohl, kann mich in die Entwicklung meines Studiengangs einbringen und lerne viele interessante Persönlichkeiten kennen.

Oliver - International Marketing Management

Ich komme aus einem multikulturellen Umfeld und empfinde das Studieren, Denken und Schaffen in einem so vielfältigen Umfeld wie der Karlshochschule als echten Segen. Ich war noch nie einer, der fällt, wenn er springen kann – und an einem Ort wie der Karls lernt man auf jeden Fall, hoch zu springen.

Elisa - International Marketing Management

In diesem Studiengang ist irgendwie „alles“ möglich. Ich entwickele während meines Studiums schon früh Strategien für richtige Produkte und Marken. Unsere Ideen werden von Unternehmen teilweise sogar real umgesetzt, was für uns Studies ein echt cooles Gefühl ist. Außerdem erhalten wir so Zugang und Einblick in viele unterschiedliche Unternehmen und Branchen.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Great place to teach, great place to think, great place to discuss the future of our society.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do the tuition fees work? How are student slots awarded at the Karls?

To our FAQ

Admission Service

More information

Application

Apply now for the next course in March 2019 with the code "GoKarls"!

All information