Visionaries Wanted! - Bachelor degrees in Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

  • International Relations (IR)
  • Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE)
  • Globalization, Governance and Law (GGL)

Pareesha studies Politics, Philosophy, and Economics at the Karls because she wants to make a positive change in the world. What is your mission in life? Could you imagine setting your own focus in your studies by grappling with economic as well as philosophical querries? If so, perhaps the program in International Relations or PPE is for you.

The features of the Karls: 01. Personalized focal point 02. Focus on practical experience + Company projects 03. Language courses + Study abroad semester 04. Friendly atmosphere + Friendly professors 05. Small class size + Interactive lectures 06. Personal development

Interview with Dr. Prof. Anthony Teitler

Zum Profil

# Why is the study of society relevant in this day and age?

As we live in such a multidimensional and interconnected world there is no issue – whether human rights, environmental, security or political economy – that does not require a thoughtful and pro-active response. In order to understand our place in the world, and how we can contribute, taking a degree in International Relations (IR) or Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE) provides important tools for exciting work possibilities, as well as understanding how the current crises we have on a local, national or international level can be (potentially) resolved. Being socially engaged and attempting to constructively deal with these complex issues is heavily encouraged on this study of society program/s.

# What makes these interdisciplinary programs at the Karls so special?

There are a number of factors that make these programs so special. Firstly, there is a small class size. Secondly, due to this small class size, professors/lecturers and students have a very close working relationship, and it is very interactive. Thirdly, students are very pro-active in class and outside. Fourthly, there is a very cosmopolitan, creative and critical feeling in class. Fifth, the students have the opportunity to study and work abroad during their time at the Karls. Sixth, the various theories and concepts taught can be practically applied during their internship and/or thesis. Finally, there is an excellent, non-hierarchical and co-operative spirit in the study of society classes and around the university.

# What is particularly important to you when working with students?

That I can see students develop and enjoy the process of learning. When I work with students I want them to learn theoretical and conceptual tools that can help them think with more depth and systematically about an issue at hand. Alongside this, it is very important for me that students are curious, open-minded, hardworking and excited about being in class. 

Dr. Prof. Anthony Teitler

Aside from his teaching at the Karlshochschule, Dr. Professor Anthony Teitler has, among other things, worked as a political consultant in England. These days he is the head of the study programs of International Relations and Politics, Philosophy and Economics, and teaches on themes such as Governance, Anglo-American studies or Corporate Social Responsibility.

Pareesha Nayar: "Hope"

May 2018 marked the month of a significant event and turning point for my home country of Malaysia. A couple of months prior, I wrote an essay on the racial riots that divided the nation on May 13th, 1969. The date that is now etched in my memory is May 9th, 2018. Our 14th general elections paved the way for the opposition party to win for the first time in history, resulting in a change in government after 61 years. Effectively, this altered the political landscape of the nation since its independence in 1957.

Like many other nations, our country had been plagued with and embroiled in a vast majority of downfalls such as corruption and scandals, at the behest of the previous governments. Although I was far away from home, witnessing history was an indescribable feeling. I vividly remember staying up to follow the updates throughout the election day, on the edge of my seat hoping for a moment that was in the making for a long time. It was a great feeling, seeing my friends and family, as well as the rest of the country go out and vote, making them the real heroes.

People from all walks of life were coming together and helping one another to ensure their votes were counted. I remember reading about pilots flying home who offered to take the ballots of those who were overseas because they couldn’t send it off in time due to systematic restrictions put in place in order to deter voters. It was truly amazing and it is a feeling you can’t quite pen down in words.

In the days that followed, I received emails and cheers from my professors and friends alike who read it across news platforms from their own home country. It was an emotional and euphoric moment experiencing the entire event. I recall sharing the sentiment with my classmates, that as Politics and International Relations students, we are often analyzing the pitfalls of foreign policy and politics in general and it is seldom one hears of occurrences that have the ability to restore your faith in justice and show you that power really does belong to the citizens of a nation. As much as it was a win for the country, the real work such as rebuilding, redemption and accountability, only began after the elections. There is still so much to do, and so many heights to reach but I think these elections already showed us a better nation, one that Malaysia has always had the capability to be, a united front regardless of our racial diversities, background and circumstances in life. 

The turnout of youth voters during the elections played a big role in securing a win for the opposition. Given that news spreads like fire in this day and age, I’m glad to be part of a generation that knows how to exercise their voice. I’ve wanted to be a journalist for as long as I can remember, and for the first time I’m excited of the prospect of going home and working in a country I am blessed to have grown up in, by covering stories no holds barred. It is my dream to be able to do that through writing pieces about causes that are dear to me, wherever I am. I hope to do that by covering every nook and cranny and giving a voice to those who need it the most. The reality of it is that the real work never ends. For me, change makers are everywhere around us. As long as people are out there fighting for the truth and the ability to tell it, as well as equal rights for everyone, hope never ceases and there are endless possibilities to break glass ceilings and redefine stereotypes.

About Pareesha Nayar

As a student of Politics, Philosophy and Economics, Pareesha pursues the dream of being a journalist in an international environment one day. In her home country, she has experienced that freedom of press isn't self-evident and therefore in the future wants to tell the stories of people that aren't being told.

#PeopleOfKarls: More stories

The Storyteller

For Alex, his degree at the Karlshochschule is a stage for ideas and stories. Would you like to tell your story?

Learn more ...

The Activist

Lydia has a vision of a better world, and works to someday achieve this vision. What is your mission?

Learn more ...

The Producer

Vocation instead of Career: Lee explains how he found his inner-film producer at the Karlshochschule. What's inside you?

Learn more ...

The Bridgebuilder

Interested in studying in Germany? Lan Anh explains how she lays out the path for candidates interested in studying at the Karlshochschule. Are you ready to break ground?

Learn more ...

The Employer

Your dream-job doesn't need to stay a dream. Jana illustrates just how much practical experience a bachelor at the Karls contains. What do you dream of?

Learn more ...

Voices from the Karls

Oliver - International Marketing Management

Coming from a multicultural background, I find studying, thinking and creating in an environment as diverse as Karlshochschule to be a real blessing. I've never been one to fall when I can jump and at a place like the Karls you certainly learn how to jump high.

Aakash - Intercultural Management & Communication

Everything here is so international and it's like you can experience the whole world.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Great place to teach, great place to think, great place to discuss the future of our society.

Cornelius - Intercultural Management & Communication

I believe that culture has become an integral part of today's economy. Through my studies I was able to develop personally and professionally.

Nico - International Media Management

In today's digitized world we are incredibly sensitive to media content and the media makers and managers need an international perspective on the subject.

Paul - Politics, Philosophy & Economics

What are the interests of politics? What motives the economy? And how can human thought and action be explained? I've always been interested in questions like that.

Svenja - International Relations

When I first thought of International Relations, I used to think of a very theoretical approach. But here at Karls that is not the only thing we do. The focus lies on team work and critical thinking, learning by doing and questioning everything in the process.

Nur - Arts & Cultural Management

Cosy, familiar, creative, productive and practice-oriented - that is my everyday university life.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do the tuition fees work? How are student slots awarded at the Karls?

To our FAQ

Admission Service

More information

Application

Apply now for the next course in March 2019 with the code "GoKarls"!

All information

Weltveränderer willkommen: Bachelorstudium im Bereich Gesellschaft

  • International Relations (IR)
  • Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE)
  • Globalization, Governance and Law (GGL)

Pareesha studiert Politics, Philosophy & Economics an der Karls, weil sie etwas verändern möchte. Was ist Deine Mission im Leben? Kannst Du Dir vorstellen, eigene Studienschwerpunkte zu setzen und Dich mit ökonomischen wie philosophischen Fragestellungen auseinanderzusetzen? Dann ist der Studiengang vielleicht auch etwas für Dich.

Deine Vorteile an der Karls: 01. Persönliche Schwerpunkte 02. Praxisbezug + Unternehmensprojekte 03. Sprachkurse + Auslandssemester 04. Tolle Atmosphäre + Profs auf Augenhöhe 05. Kleine Lerngruppen + interaktive Lehre 06. Persönlichkeitsentwicklung

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Anthony Teitler

Zum Profil

# Warum ist ein gesellschaftliches Studium in der heutigen Zeit relevant?

Da wir in einer so vielschichtigen und vernetzten Welt leben, gibt es kein Thema - ob Menschenrechte, Umwelt, Sicherheit oder politische Ökonomie -, das keine durchdachte und proaktive Antwort erfordert. Um unseren Platz in der Welt zu verstehen und wie wir dazu beitragen können, bietet ein abgeschlossenes Studium in International Relations (IR) oder Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE) wichtige Werkzeuge für spannende Arbeitsmöglichkeiten und das Verständnis, wie die aktuellen Krisen, die wir auf lokaler, nationaler oder internationaler Ebene haben, (potenziell) gelöst werden können. Soziales Engagement und der Versuch, sich konstruktiv mit diesen komplexen Themen auseinanderzusetzen, werden in unseren gesellschaftswissenschaftlichen Studiengängen stark gefördert.

# Was macht dieses Programm an der Karls so besonders?

Es gibt eine Reihe von Faktoren, die dieses Programm so besonders machen. Erstens haben wir kleine Klassengrößen. Zweitens, haben Professoren/Dozenten und Studenten aufgrund dieser kleinen Klassengrößen ein sehr enges Arbeitsverhältnis und die gesamten Vorlesungen sind sehr interaktiv. Drittens bringen sich die Studenten im Unterricht und auch außerhalb sehr aktiv ein. Viertens, herrscht eine sehr internationale, kreative und kritische Stimmung in den Vorlesungen. Fünftens haben die Studierenden die Möglichkeit, während ihrer Zeit an der Karlshochschule im Ausland zu studieren und zu arbeiten. Sechstens können die verschiedenen gelehrten Theorien und Konzepte während des Praktikums und/oder der Abschlussarbeit praktisch angewendet werden. Außerdem herrscht eine ausgezeichnete, nicht-hierarchische und sehr kooperative Atmosphäre in unseren gesellschaftlichen Studienprogrammen und allgemein an der Hochschule.

# Was ist Ihnen bei der Arbeit mit Studierenden besonders wichtig?

Zu sehen, wie viel Spaß die Studierenden am lernen haben und wie sie sich dabei entwickeln. Wenn ich mit Studierenden arbeite, möchte ich, dass sie theoretische und konzeptionelle Werkzeuge lernen, die ihnen helfen, tiefer und systematischer über ein bestimmtes Thema nachzudenken. Außerdem ist es mir sehr wichtig, dass die Studierenden im Unterricht neugierig, aufgeschlossen, fleißig und begeistert sind.

Über Prof. Dr. Anthony Teitler

Prof. Dr. Anthony Teitler hat neben seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Karlshochschule unter anderem als außenpolitischer Berater in England gearbeitet. Er ist heute Leiter der Studiengänge IR und PPE und gestaltet Vorlesungen zu Themen wie Governance, Anglo-American Studies oder Corporate Social Responsibility.

Pareesha Nayar: "Hoffnung"

Für mein Heimatland Malaysia war der Mai des letzten Jahres ein unglaublich wichtiger und zukunftsweisender Monat. Noch ein paar Wochen vorher hatte ich einen Aufsatz über die radikalen Aufstände vom 13. Mai 1969 geschrieben, durch die unsere Nation damals tief gespalten wurde, aber jetzt ist das Datum, das sich in mein Gedächtnis eingebrannt hat, der 9. Mai 2018. Die vierzehnten Wahlen unserer Geschichte ebneten den Weg für die Oppositionspartei und so gab es zum ersten Mal seit 61 Jahren einen Regierungswechsel. Letztendlich war das die erste Veränderung in der Regierungslandschaft seit unserer Unabhängigkeit im Jahre 1957.

Wie in vielen andere Nationen auch, war das Leben in unserem Land lange Zeit von verschiedenen Missständen, wie Korruption und unzähligen Regierungsskandalen, geprägt. Obwohl ich hier in Deutschland nicht live dabei sein konnte, war es ein unbeschreibliches Gefühl, Zeuge von diesem Augenblick zu sein, der in die Geschichte eingegehen sollte. Ich erinnere mich noch genau daran, wie ich damals sehr lange wach geblieben bin, um möglichst viel von der Situation in meinem Heimatland mitzubekommen. Ich saß nervös auf meiner Stuhlkannte und hoffte, dass es tatsächlich passieren würde - dass der Moment wahr werden würde, auf den wir alle so lange gewartet hatten. Es war ein großartiges Gefühl mit meiner Familie und meinen Freunden mitzufiebern, als das ganze Land die Wahlurnen stürmte und so Geschichte schrieb.

Menschen aus allen Gesellschaftsschichten sind damals zusammen gekommen und haben sich gegenseitig untersützt, um so vielen Menschen wie möglich zu ermöglichen ihre Stimme abzugeben. Ich weiß noch wie ich gelesen habe, dass einige Piloten angeboten haben, auf ihren Heimflügen Briefwahlzettel von Leuten mitzunehmen, die sonst nicht mehr rechtzeitig bis zur Wahl in Malaysia eingetroffen wären. Die Regierung hatte nämlich zuvor bestimmte Kommunikationswege abgeschnitten, um einige Bevölkerungsgruppen von der Wahl abzuhalten. Was ich damals gefühlt habe, lässt sich unmöglich in Worte fassen - es war einfach überwältigend!

An den nächsten Tagen wurde ich mit E-Mails und Grüßen von meinen Professoren und Freunden überschüttet, die die Neuigkeiten in den Nachrichten gesehen hatten. All das war sehr emotional und unglaublich ermutigend für mich. Bald sprachen wir auch in einer unserer Vorlesungen über die Ereignisse in Malaysia und es war ein sehr besonderer Moment, als wir, neben all den deprimierenden Geschichten und Fällen gescheiterter internationaler Politik, mit denen wir uns sonst als Politik und International Relations Studierende beschäftigen, auch mal über einen Fall reden konnten, der das Potential hatte, unseren Glauben an Gerechtigkeit und Demokratie wiederherzustellen.

Obwohl die Wahlen ein großer Gewinn für unser Land waren, brachten sie auch viele Herausforderungen mit sich: Die eigentliche Arbeit des Wiederaufbaus und der Neustrukturierung lagen noch vor uns. Und auch heute ist noch unglaublich viel zu tun und es muss sich noch sehr viel verändern, aber diese Wahlen haben uns schonmal gezeigt, dass eine bessere Zukunft möglich ist: Eine, in der Malaysia als geeinte Nation auftreten kann, unabhängig von den individuellen Lebensumständen oder ethnischen Unterschieden der Bürger.

Es hat sich herausgestellt, dass vor allem die jungen Wähler eine große Rolle für den Sieg der Opposition gespielt haben. Ich bin froh, dass ich Teil dieser Generation sein darf, in der sich Nachrichten wie Lauffeuer verbreiten und die weiß, wie sie ihre Stimme effektiv einsetzten kann. Seit ich denken kann, will ich Journalisin werden und jetzt sehe ich zum ersten mal die Chance, dass ich tatsächlich nach Hause kommen kann und dort - in dem Land, in dem ich aufwachsen durfte - uneingeschränkt und in Freiheit Artikel veröffentlichen kann. Es ist mein Traum Geschichten über Situationen zu schreiben, die mich persönlich bewegen - wo auch immer ich bin. Ich hoffe, dass ich in die abgelegensten Winkel vordringen kann und all denen eine Stimme geben kann, die es am meisten benötigen. Weltveränderer gibt es überall in unserem Umfeld. Solange es Leute gibt, die ihre Augen nicht vor der Wahrheit verschließen, die ihre Stimme erheben und für Meinungs- und Pressefreiheit oder Gleichberechtigung kämpfen, solange wird es auch Hoffnung und Wege geben, um Mauern und Vorurteile zu überwinden.

Über Pareesha Nayar

Mit ihrem Politics, Philosophy and Economics Studium verfolgt Pareesha den Traum, eines Tages mal als internationale Journalistin zu arbeiten. Als Bürgerin Malaysias hat sie erlebt, dass Pressefreiheit keine Selbstverständlichkeit ist und möchte deshalb durch ihre Arbeit vor allem denen eine Stimme geben, die sonst nur wenig gehört werden.

#PeopleOfKarls: Weitere Geschichten

The Storyteller

Für Alex ist das Studium an der Karls eine Bühne für Ideen und Geschichten. Du möchtest deine eigene Geschichte erzählen?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Activist

Lydia hat eine konkrete Vorstellung von einer besseren Welt und engagiert sich, damit sie eines Tages Wirklichkeit wird. Was ist deine Mission?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Producer

Berufung statt Beruf: Lee erzählt dir, wie er an der Karls herausgefunden hat, dass ein Filmproduzent in ihm steckt. Was steckt in dir?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Bridgebuilder

Interessiert an einem Studium in Deutschland? Lan Anh erzählt, wie sie Studienanwärtern den Weg an die Karlshochschule ebnet. Bereit, aufzubrechen?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Employer

Dein Traumjob muss kein Traum bleiben. Jana zeigt dir, wie hoch der Praxisanteil im Studium an der Karls ist. Wovon träumst du?

Mehr erfahren ...

Voices from the Karls

Charlotte - Internationales Medienmanagement

Hier an der Karls arbeiten wir in erster Linie immer wieder in Teams und Gruppen und zwar oftmals an konkreten Projektaufträgen. Ich denke, das bereitet einen ziemlich realistisch auf das spätere Berufsleben vor. Auch die Möglichkeit, sich neben den Vorlesungen bei Hochschulprojekten einzubringen, finde ich spannend und wertvoll.

Isabella - Kunst- und Kulturmanagement

Neben meinem Studium des Kunst- und Kulturmanagements arbeite ich in der Hochschulkommunikation mit. Hier habe ich die Möglichkeit, in verschiedenen Projekten mitzuarbeiten und meine Ideen einzubringen. Es macht mir großen Spaß, die Hochschule mit meiner Kreativität bereichern und mitgestalten zu können.

Hauke - Interkulturelles Management und Kommunikation

Das Besondere an der Karlshochschule ist für mich, dass mir viele verschiedenen Perspektiven auf ein Thema oder eine Kultur gezeigt werden. Der Mensch steht hier tatsächlich im Mittelpunkt, ich lerne, mich mit deren Vielfalt auseinanderzusetzen und die Welt durch verschiedene Augen zu sehen.

Saranda - Internationales Eventmanagement

Mir gefällt das Studium an der Karlshochschule, weil es so vielseitig und komplex ist. Am Ende werden wichtige Weichen gestellt, um später einmal erfolgreich zu sein. Vor allem lerne ich wie man Menschen zusammenbringt und begeistert, egal ob geschäftlich oder privat.

Nur - Kunst- und Kulturmanagement

Gemütlich, familiär, kreativ, produktiv und praxisorientiert – das ist mein Hochschulalltag an der Karlshochschule. Hier habe ich Spaß und fühle mich wohl, kann mich in die Entwicklung meines Studiengangs einbringen und lerne viele interessante Persönlichkeiten kennen.

Oliver - International Marketing Management

Ich komme aus einem multikulturellen Umfeld und empfinde das Studieren, Denken und Schaffen in einem so vielfältigen Umfeld wie der Karlshochschule als echten Segen. Ich war noch nie einer, der fällt, wenn er springen kann – und an einem Ort wie der Karls lernt man auf jeden Fall, hoch zu springen.

Elisa - International Marketing Management

In diesem Studiengang ist irgendwie „alles“ möglich. Ich entwickele während meines Studiums schon früh Strategien für richtige Produkte und Marken. Unsere Ideen werden von Unternehmen teilweise sogar real umgesetzt, was für uns Studies ein echt cooles Gefühl ist. Außerdem erhalten wir so Zugang und Einblick in viele unterschiedliche Unternehmen und Branchen.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Great place to teach, great place to think, great place to discuss the future of our society.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do the tuition fees work? How are student slots awarded at the Karls?

To our FAQ

Admission Service

More information

Application

Apply now for the next course in March 2019 with the code "GoKarls"!

All information