Commerce Connoisseurs cordially recieved: International Business (B. A.)

  • Marketing (MA)
  • Intercultural Management (IM)
  • Responsible Business (RB)

For Lee, conquering the challenges of tomorrow goes hand in hand with scrutinizing the economy of today. Do you think like that as well? Maybe our International Business bachelor with a specialization in either Intercultural Management, Responsible Business, or Marketing is for you?

The features of the Karls: 01. Personalized focal point 02. Focus on practical experience + Company projects 03. Language courses + Study abroad semester 04. Friendly atmosphere + Friendly professors 05. Small class size + Interactive lectures 06. Personal development

Interview with Dr. Prof. Francisco Javier Montiel Alafont

Visit profile

# What are central characteristics of the International Business program that make it especially relevant for study applicants interested in business, management and economy?

The internationally fast changing economic, entrepreneurial and socio-cultural context of the last decades allows anticipating that tomorrow companies and organizations will be different, so that they will need managers with a new vision towards business administration. And, of course, in a way... tomorrow is now!

Our program in International Business provides participants with a well-founded and balanced set of knowledge and abilities in business administration that qualify them to develop managerial activities within every kind of company or organization, from start-ups to global players, from industrial companies to non-profit organizations. But where does this “new vision” come from? Well, from the fact that we understand management as a cultural practice, diversity in international organizations as a chance to generate synergy and ethics as a driving factor of today’s companies. This vision allows our graduates to grasp the relations between economic, social and environmental processes on a global, transnational and local level in a reflective way. Hence, qualifying them to innovatively generate solutions to issues and paradoxes of today’s organizations, moving themselves within the networks of a globalized world.

 

# What is special and unique about studying International Business at Karlshochschule?

Something very specific about the International Business program at Karlshochschule is that, along with the mentioned fundamental education in business administration, students are able to sharpen their profile by selecting one of these three specializations: Intercultural Management, focussing on an updated understanding of the interrelation between communication, culture and diversity in organizations; Responsible Business, that aims to the development of socially and environmentally sustainable concepts of business; or Marketing, setting the accent on consumer culture and digitalization. I am convinced that these very future oriented specializations, on the one hand contribute to enhance the employability of our graduates and, on the other hand, prepare them properly for their master program.

Nevertheless, studying at Karlshochschule is a special experience for a number of reasons that are not exclusive for the International Business program, but refer to the university as a whole and its diversity (and I mean this is literally: for instance, we mix groups from different study programs, because we know well that they mutually inspire and learn from each other). I’m referring to the international environment, to the cultural approach to management and society, to the attention set on ethics and citizenship, to the importance of acquiring practical experience during the study, to the constructivist didactic approach, positioning the students at the centre of the process, and to the importance granted to personality development.

 

# What is important to know about the relations and cooperation among students as well as between the students and professors within the International Business program?

Our classes are taught in English… but we are multilingual, multicultural, multi-ethnic and multinational, for our students have very different origins and biographies and, despite being quite young, they possess a wide range of diverse experiences, many of them internationally acquired. This is the reason why, when they work together, one has the opportunity of witnessing a magical moment of creativity and mutual motivation. I always say that the students are undoubtedly the main asset of the International Business program. They are very inquisitive and I really believe that we accomplish their expectations with a team of lecturers, who have both, an interesting combination of academic career and great research records on the one side, and strategic thinking and practical experience on the other. But we have also certain expectations: we want to attract students who are willing to actively participate in the classes and contribute with their insights. Of course for doing so they need solid fundaments; hence the International Business program steers clear from mainstream understanding of what is a “university of applied sciences” providing its students with a firm theoretical basis and a decidedly scientific set of analysis and research instruments. Therefore studying in our program is not only an exciting adventure but also an intellectual challenge. Along with this, our credo is all about interaction and exchange: Learning from first-hand experiences and observations, personal and team analysis, abstraction, development and implementation helps students to “really” autonomously develop their own knowledge and competences in a significant way. It may be through case studies or simulations and games, practical workshops or company projects - In every module our students will have the opportunity to learn from real or close-to-real situations.

About Dr. Prof. Francisco Javier Montiel Alafont

Dr. Prof. Montiel Alafont is Head of the undergraduate Program International Business at Karlshochschule, where he holds a professorship for Intercultural Business Communication since 2012. His current interest lies in the field of diversity and management research. He has gained considerable professional experience both in Spain (marketing and sales) and in Germany (intercultural training, consulting and coaching).

Andrea Naurath on the module CIPL (Creativity, Improvisation and Play)

Visit profile

The buzzwords "Personal Development" are just about as interesting as "Orthopedic Shoes". Namely, not at all. But still this is the reason why I teach at the Karlshochschule. As a practicing actress and coach, I am mainly occupied with understanding what makes successful people stand out, how they function, and which personal strengths they bring to the labor market.

So you want to be a manager? You want to be successfull at a leading position? - That sounds great, but what about coping with the pressure? Are you able to move forward, even when you're not sure of yourself? Can you keep up with the expectations of those around you, waiting for you to lead? What about when even you don't know the way to success? How can you develop creative solutions which never the less comply with your character and values? Can you improvise? What do you do in the situations which don't have a "How to..." guide written about them? When do you act authentically? What would that even look like?

A strong personality can more easily navigate surprising and turbulent situations. This is something that Karlshochschule has recognized and therefore has built into its degree programs.

In my courses I prioritize that the individuals in my classes define their own goals, and recognize their own reasons for wanting to do something, and learning what they want to do. This provides an opportunity and freedom for independent study. Yet at the same time it resonates with the individual as I don't determine what the goal is, but the individual defines it for themselves. In this way the group becomes an essential component for self-reflection and a mirror of one's own essence.

For many this is a difficult stimulus to deal with, as they may be more used to fulfilling a 'function' which is externally demanded from them. Therefore I use excercises from theatre, coaching, or just plain experimentation so that my students may find out how they respond to being absolutely clueless, and so that they may also find out how they would like to answer to such ambiguity. I like to think of such exercises as weight training for one's personality. The students who have successfully passed this class will leave with a wide range of resources which prepare them for the complexity of life in a way which technical knowledge alone does not.

About Andrea Naurath

As an actress, trainer, and coach Andrea Naurath feels right at home in both the Arts and in Business. This extraordinary mix is what inspires her to try out new styles of teaching which are becoming ever more relevant for the future professional lives of our Bachelor and Masters students.

#PeopleOfKarls: More stories

The Activist

Lydia has a vision of a better world, and works to someday achieve this vision. What is your mission?

Learn more ...

The Bridgebuilder

Interested in studying in Germany? Lan Anh explains how she lays out the path for candidates interested in studying at the Karlshochschule. Are you ready to break ground?

Learn more ...

The Changemaker

Every movement starts with a single step. Pareesha describes the changes her country of Malaysia is undergoing. What moves you?

Learn more ...

The Employer

Your dream-job doesn't need to stay a dream. Jana illustrates just how much practical experience a bachelor at the Karls contains. What do you dream of?

Learn more ...

The Storyteller

For Alex, his degree at the Karlshochschule is a stage for ideas and stories. Would you like to tell your story?

Learn more ...

Voices from the Karls

Oliver - International Marketing Management

Coming from a multicultural background, I find studying, thinking and creating in an environment as diverse as Karlshochschule to be a real blessing. I've never been one to fall when I can jump and at a place like the Karls you certainly learn how to jump high.

Aakash - Intercultural Management & Communication

Everything here is so international and it's like you can experience the whole world.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Great place to teach, great place to think, great place to discuss the future of our society.

Cornelius - Intercultural Management & Communication

I believe that culture has become an integral part of today's economy. Through my studies I was able to develop personally and professionally.

Nico - International Media Management

In today's digitized world we are incredibly sensitive to media content and the media makers and managers need an international perspective on the subject.

Paul - Politics, Philosophy & Economics

What are the interests of politics? What motives the economy? And how can human thought and action be explained? I've always been interested in questions like that.

Svenja - International Relations

When I first thought of International Relations, I used to think of a very theoretical approach. But here at Karls that is not the only thing we do. The focus lies on team work and critical thinking, learning by doing and questioning everything in the process.

Nur - Arts & Cultural Management

Cosy, familiar, creative, productive and practice-oriented - that is my everyday university life.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do the tuition fees work? How are student slots awarded at the Karls?

To our FAQ

Admission Service

More information

Application

Apply now for the next course in March 2019 with the code "GoKarls"!

All information

Wirtschaftswunderer willkommen: International Business (B. A.)

  • Responsible Business (RB)
  • Marketing (MA)
  • Intercultural Management (IM)

Lee hinterfragt die Wirtschaft von heute, um Verantwortung für die Welt von morgen zu übernehmen. Was hast Du vor? Ist der Bachelor International Business mit den Schwerpunkten Intercultural Management, Responsible Business oder Marketing auch etwas für Dich?

Deine Vorteile an der Karls: 01. Persönliche Schwerpunkte 02. Praxisbezug + Unternehmensprojekte 03. Sprachkurse + Auslandssemester 04. Tolle Atmosphäre + Profs auf Augenhöhe 05. Kleine Lerngruppen 06. interaktive Lehre 07. Persönlichkeitsentwicklung

Interview mit Prof. Dr. Francisco Javier Montiel Alafont

Zum Profil

# Welche zentralen Elemente machen das International Business-Programm an der Karlshochschule relevant für Studienbewerber, die sich für Management, Wirtschaft und Betrieb interessieren?

Der sich international schnell verändernde wirtschaftliche, unternehmerische und soziokulturelle Kontext der letzten Jahrzehnte lässt erwarten, dass Unternehmen und Organisationen von morgen anders sein werden, so dass sie Manager mit einer neuen Vision von Betriebswirtschaft benötigen. Und natürlich ist morgen in gewisser Weise... schon heute!

Unser International-Business-Programm vermittelt den Teilnehmern fundierte und ausgewogene betriebswirtschaftliche Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten, die sie befähigen, Managementaktivitäten in jeder Art von Unternehmen oder Organisation durchzuführen, vom Start-up bis zum Global Player, vom Industriefirmen bis zu Non-Profit-Gesellschaften. Aber woher kommt diese „neue Vision“? Nun, sie entsteht aus der Tatsache, dass wir Management als kulturelle Praxis, Vielfalt in internationalen Organisationen als Chance, um Synergien zu generieren, und Ethik als Antriebsfaktor heutiger Unternehmen verstehen. Diese Vision ermöglicht es unseren Absolventen, die Zusammenhänge zwischen wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und ökologischen Prozessen auf globaler, transnationaler und lokaler Ebene reflektiert zu erfassen. Auf diese Weise qualifizieren sie sich für die innovative Lösungsfindung für Belange und Paradoxien heutiger Organisationen, die sich in den Netzwerken einer globalisierten Welt bewegen.

 

# Was macht das International Business Studium an der Karlshochschule einzigartig und besonders?

Das Besondere am International-Business-Programm der Karlshochschule ist, dass die Studierenden neben der erwähnten betriebswirtschaftlichen Grundausbildung, durch die Auswahl einer dieser drei Spezialisierungen ihr Profil schärfen können: Intercultural Management, das sich auf ein zeitgemäßes Verständnis der Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Kommunikation, Kultur und Diversität in Unternehmen konzentriert; Responsible Business, das auf die Entwicklung sozial und ökologisch nachhaltiger Geschäftskonzepte abzielt; oder Marketing, das den Schwerpunkt auf Konsumkultur und Digitalisierung legt. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass diese sehr zukunftsorientierten Spezialisierungen wesentlich dazu beitragen, zum einen die Beschäftigungsfähigkeit unserer Absolventen zu erhöhen und zum anderen sie richtig auf ein Masterprogramm vorzubereiten.

Dennoch ist das Studium an der Karlshochschule aus einer Reihe von Gründen ein besonderes Erlebnis, die sich nicht nur auf den Studiengang International Business beschränken, sondern auf der ganzen Hochschule in ihrer Vielfalt beruhen (und das meine ich im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes: Wir mischen beispielsweise Gruppen aus verschiedenen Studiengängen, weil wir wissen, dass sie sich gegenseitig inspirieren und voneinander lernen). Damit beziehe ich mich auf das internationale Umfeld, den kulturellen Ansatz bei der Konzeptualisierung von Management und Gesellschaft, den Fokus auf Ethik und bürgerschaftliches Engagement, den Erwerb praktischer Erfahrungen schon während des Studiums, den konstruktivistischen didaktischen Ansatz, die Positionierung der Studierenden im Mittelpunkt des Lernprozesses und die Bedeutung, die der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung beigemessen wird.

 

# Was sollte man über die Beziehungen und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Studierenden sowie zwischen den Studierenden und Professoren im Rahmen des Studiengangs International Business wissen?

Unsere Module werden auf Englisch unterrichtet.... aber wir sind mehrsprachig, multikulturell, multiethnisch und multinational, denn unsere Studierenden haben sehr unterschiedliche Wurzeln und Biographien und verfügen, obwohl sie noch recht jung sind, über ein breites Spektrum an unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen, von denen viele international erworben wurden. Aus diesem Grund hat man in der Zusammenarbeit die Möglichkeit, einen magischen Moment der Kreativität und gegenseitigen Motivation zu erleben. Ich sage immer, dass die Studierenden zweifellos das wichtigste Kapital des International Business Programms sind. Sie sind sehr neugierig und ich bin davon überzeugt, dass wir ihre Erwartungen mit unserem Team von Dozenten erfüllen, die eine interessante Kombination aus akademischer Karriere und hervorragenden Forschungsergebnissen auf der einen Seite und strategischem Denken und praktischer Erfahrung auf der anderen Seite mitbringen. Aber wir haben auch bestimmte Erwartungen an die Studierenden: Wir wollen junge Menschen gewinnen, die bereit sind, aktiv an den Kursen teilzunehmen und ihre Erkenntnisse einzubringen. Natürlich brauchen sie dafür solide Grundlagen; somit verlässt das International Business Programm das Mainstream-Verständnis einer "Fachhochschule", indem sie ihren Studierenden eine solide theoretische Basis und ein ausgesprochen wissenschaftliches Analyse- und Forschungsinstrumentarium bietet. Insgesamt ist das Lernen in unserem Programm also nicht nur ein spannendes Abenteuer, sondern auch eine intellektuelle Herausforderung. In Einklang damit geht es in unserem Credo vor allem um Interaktion und Austausch: Das Lernen durch eigene Erfahrungen und Beobachtungen, durch individuelle und team-bezogene Analyse, Abstraktion, Entwicklung und Umsetzung hilft den Studierenden, ihr eigenes Wissen und ihre eigenen Kompetenzen "wirklich" selbstständig zu entwickeln. Ob Fallstudien oder Simulationen und Spiele, praktische Workshops oder Unternehmensprojekte - in jedem Modul haben unsere Studierenden die Möglichkeit, aus realen oder nahezu realen Situationen zu lernen.

Über Prof. Dr. Francisco Javier Montiel Alafont

Prof. Dr. Montiel Alafont ist Studiengangsleiter des Bachelor-Studiengangs International Business an der Karlshochschule, wo er seit 2012 eine Professur für interkulturelle Wirtschaftskommunikation innehat. Sein aktuelles Interesse liegt im Bereich der Diversität- und Managementforschung.  Wesentliche berufliche Erfahrungen hat er sowohl in Spanien (Marketing und Vertrieb) als auch in Deutschland (interkulturelles Training, Consulting und Coaching) gesammelt.

Andrea Naurath über ihr Modul CIPL (Creativity, Improvisation and Play)

Zum Profil

Das Buzzword „Persönlichkeitsentwicklung“ macht so neugierig wie „Gesundheitsschuhe“. Nämlich gar nicht. Und dennoch ist es für mich der Grund warum ich an der Karlshochschule lehre. Als Schauspielerin und Coach beschäftige ich mich permanent damit, was erfolgreiche Menschen auszeichnet, wie sie wirken und welche persönliche Stärken sie durchsetzungsfähig auf dem Arbeitsmarkt machen.

Du willst Manager werden? Du willst erfolgreich in eine Führungsposition gehen? – das klingt gut, aber bist du auch belastbar? Kannst du es aushalten, wenn du nicht mehr weiter weißt? Wenn alle auf dich schauen und warten, dass du die Richtung vorgibst? Was ist, wenn du die Richtung selbst nicht kennst? Wie kannst du kreative Lösungen entwickeln, die trotzdem deinem Wesen entsprechen? Kannst du improvisieren? Was machst du, wenn es kein Buch zum Nachschlagen gibt „How to....“ ? Wann bist du authentisch? Und wie sieht das bei dir aus?

Eine starke Persönlichkeit kann mit überraschenden und schwierigen Situationen besser umgehen. Das hat die Karlshochschule erkannt und zu einem wichtigen Baustein des Studiums gemacht.

In meinem Modul lege ich Wert darauf, dass jeder seine eigenen Ziele und Gründe findet, was er/sie lernen möchte und warum. Das gibt viel Freiheit, um selbstbestimmt zu studieren. Gleichzeitig wirft es jeden auf sich selbst zurück, denn ich gebe nicht vor was das Ziel ist. Die Gruppe ist dabei ein wesentlicher Bestandteil für Selbstreflexion und als Spiegel für die eigene Wirkung.

Diese Provokation ist für viele hart, die gewohnt sind Erwartungen zu erfüllen und zu „funktionieren“, das zu tun, was von ihnen verlangt wird. Durch Übungen aus dem Schauspiel und dem Coaching unterstütze ich Studierende dabei, sich auszuloten, ratlos zu werden und wieder Antworten zu finden. Das ist eine Art Muskeltraining für die Persönlichkeit. Wer dieses Modul erfolgreich absolviert, der hat eine Bandbreite an Ressourcen gewonnen, die jenseits von Fachwissen auf die Komplexität des Lebens vorbereiten.

Über Andrea Naurath

Andrea Naurath ist als Schauspielerin, Trainerin und Coach sowohl in der Kunst wie auch in der Wirtschaft zu Hause. Dieser ungewöhnliche Mix inspiriert sie immer wieder zu neuen Formen der Lehre, die im Bachelor und Master zum Tragen kommen und stets einen praktischen Bezug zum realen Berufsalltag herstellen.

#PeopleOfKarls: Weitere Geschichten

The Activist

Lydia hat eine konkrete Vorstellung von einer besseren Welt und engagiert sich, damit sie eines Tages Wirklichkeit wird. Was ist deine Mission?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Bridgebuilder

Interessiert an einem Studium in Deutschland? Lan Anh erzählt, wie sie Studienanwärtern den Weg an die Karlshochschule ebnet. Bereit, aufzubrechen?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Changemaker

Jede Bewegung nimmt irgendwo ihren Anfang. Pareesha berichtet, wie sich die Dinge in ihrer Heimat Malaysia verändern. Was bewegt dich?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Employer

Dein Traumjob muss kein Traum bleiben. Jana zeigt dir, wie hoch der Praxisanteil im Studium an der Karls ist. Wovon träumst du?

Mehr erfahren ...

The Storyteller

Für Alex ist das Studium an der Karls eine Bühne für Ideen und Geschichten. Du möchtest deine eigene Geschichte erzählen?

Mehr erfahren ...

Voices from the Karls

Charlotte - Internationales Medienmanagement

Hier an der Karls arbeiten wir in erster Linie immer wieder in Teams und Gruppen und zwar oftmals an konkreten Projektaufträgen. Ich denke, das bereitet einen ziemlich realistisch auf das spätere Berufsleben vor. Auch die Möglichkeit, sich neben den Vorlesungen bei Hochschulprojekten einzubringen, finde ich spannend und wertvoll.

Isabella - Kunst- und Kulturmanagement

Neben meinem Studium des Kunst- und Kulturmanagements arbeite ich in der Hochschulkommunikation mit. Hier habe ich die Möglichkeit, in verschiedenen Projekten mitzuarbeiten und meine Ideen einzubringen. Es macht mir großen Spaß, die Hochschule mit meiner Kreativität bereichern und mitgestalten zu können.

Hauke - Interkulturelles Management und Kommunikation

Das Besondere an der Karlshochschule ist für mich, dass mir viele verschiedenen Perspektiven auf ein Thema oder eine Kultur gezeigt werden. Der Mensch steht hier tatsächlich im Mittelpunkt, ich lerne, mich mit deren Vielfalt auseinanderzusetzen und die Welt durch verschiedene Augen zu sehen.

Saranda - Internationales Eventmanagement

Mir gefällt das Studium an der Karlshochschule, weil es so vielseitig und komplex ist. Am Ende werden wichtige Weichen gestellt, um später einmal erfolgreich zu sein. Vor allem lerne ich wie man Menschen zusammenbringt und begeistert, egal ob geschäftlich oder privat.

Nur - Kunst- und Kulturmanagement

Gemütlich, familiär, kreativ, produktiv und praxisorientiert – das ist mein Hochschulalltag an der Karlshochschule. Hier habe ich Spaß und fühle mich wohl, kann mich in die Entwicklung meines Studiengangs einbringen und lerne viele interessante Persönlichkeiten kennen.

Oliver - International Marketing Management

Ich komme aus einem multikulturellen Umfeld und empfinde das Studieren, Denken und Schaffen in einem so vielfältigen Umfeld wie der Karlshochschule als echten Segen. Ich war noch nie einer, der fällt, wenn er springen kann – und an einem Ort wie der Karls lernt man auf jeden Fall, hoch zu springen.

Elisa - International Marketing Management

In diesem Studiengang ist irgendwie „alles“ möglich. Ich entwickele während meines Studiums schon früh Strategien für richtige Produkte und Marken. Unsere Ideen werden von Unternehmen teilweise sogar real umgesetzt, was für uns Studies ein echt cooles Gefühl ist. Außerdem erhalten wir so Zugang und Einblick in viele unterschiedliche Unternehmen und Branchen.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Björn Bohnenkamp

Great place to teach, great place to think, great place to discuss the future of our society.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do the tuition fees work? How are student slots awarded at the Karls?

To our FAQ

Admission Service

More information

Application

Apply now for the next course in March 2019 with the code "GoKarls"!

All information