Hear the students first: Study Master Management at the Karls

The Karls is a different kind of university for people who are or who want to be different; specifically for those who want to make a difference. Students will find the Master Management to be an environment where management, cultural and social sciences, theory and practice, ethics and sustainability come together – and where these phenomena are not taken for granted, but where students reflect them critically and empathically. But also not less important, hear what the students have to say first!

Kai Feuchter

Kai Feuchter, Alumnus Master Management

"People always say that rethinking management is nothing but a myth; a fake claim without substance. For this Master’s that is not true. I am seriously rethinking everything!"

Master's degree Management: What's the buzz?

 

Master's degree Management: The Concept

 

Whatever you consider to be the 'reality' of the economy today, whatever meaning you take away from that, it is always influenced by external and internal factors. Sometimes these factors go along pretty well and sometimes they are in opposition. When it comes to breathing life, however, every action and every interaction is performed. How that performance goes and what it results in depends on social and cultural context(s); that is, on a personal and an institutional level.

In contrast to the prevailing concept of 'man-as-machine' in management studies, you need to understand what makes people tick, how they shape and are shaped by culture, and how society as a whole progresses in order to be successful at what you do. Young professionals like you need to be qualified for management and leadership functions in business – but beyond that, in society. In that, you are able to understand, accompany and actively design social and cultural change in any management position you would like to obtain.

That is what we provide in this Master's degree Management. We don't spoon-feed you mere factual knowledge or a 'universal truth'. You do get insights into relevant fields, theories and practices. But the focus is really on the interaction between everyone involved. Individual experiences and opinions are appreciated, discussed and worked on together. You will re-think established paths and tread new ones on the basis of an embodied sense of responsibility, empathy, sustainability, and expertise. 

Master Management: Some facts about the program

David Sixt

David Sixt, Alumnus Master Management

"This program frequently blows my mind and then challenges but also supports me to re-assemble it. It's fascinating!"

Master's degree Management: The Modules

Now, why choose between being a generalist or a specialist? In the Master Management you can become both. The common basis for all students is the modules in General Management (light blue) and Personal Skills (dark blue). You add to that an individual selection of two out of these six areas of Specialization (green): 

 

 

 

 

 

For detailed information about each module please see the module descriptions.

 

Study year 1  

Specialization I

5 ECTS

Specialization II

5 ECTS

Key Concepts for the Study of Management as Culture: Cultural Turns

5 ECTS

Controlling: Leading for Results

5 ECTS

Business Analysis

5 ECTS

Rhetorics and Stylistics

5 ECTS

Specialization I

5 ECTS

Specialization II

5 ECTS

Culture, Markets & Consumption

5 ECTS

Governance: Norms, Rules & Rituals

5 ECTS

Strategic Practice

5 ECTS

Power & Conflict

5 ECTS

Study year 2  

Specialization I

5 ECTS

Specialization II

5 ECTS

Innovation Project

5 ECTS

Legitimacy: Ethics & Aesthetics

5 ECTS

Business Transformation

5 ECTS

Creativity, Improvisation & Play

5 ECTS

Research Colloquium

3 ECTS

Master Thesis incl. its Defense

22 ECTS

Personal Renewal

5 ECTS
Mischa Burmester

Mischa Burmester, Alumnus Master Management

"The interconnectedness of modules within and across semesters is stunning. This Master's is definitively about 'Rethinking Management' and requires engagement on the brink of my comfort zone."

Master's degree Management: The Structure

 

Semester 1: 'Structure'

The first semester has a strong theoretical focus with links to practice sprinkled into it. With an introduction to a broad variety of concepts and to how economic, social and cultural sciences relate to each other we build a common basis of management knowledge together.

Semester 2: 'Performance'

The second semester is the beginning of a shift from a theory to a practice focus. Your role as Alice crawling down the rabbit hole really begins. You look beyond the stage, behind the scenes. You reflect on what is played, how it is played, why it is played that way and what your role in all this is.

Semester 3: 'Transformation'

In the third semester you really focus on practice and how to deal with it. Questions of ethical behavior, aesthetic expression, blurriness and indecisiveness, as well as constant, active change are crucial here. It becomes about the 'art of leadership'.

Semester 4: 'Research'

The fourth semester revolves all around your Master Thesis, which integrates theory and practice. You reflect on what you've learned and loved and incorporate your experiences into this concluding work. It's just as much about inspiring others as it is about being inspired.

Imagine all modules, horizontally and vertically, as an orchestra. They complement each other and only together do they unfold their full potential. You learn to draw lines between them, discover links between the singular notes and train to arrange them yourself.

Master's degree Management: The Areas of Specialization

In our opinion the question of selecting your Areas of Specialization is mostly a matter of gut-feeling. It comes down to what you are interested in as a person. What feels right? What are you good at? What do you want to know more about? 

But let's give you a helping hand. Here is some inspiration of the most popular combinations our Master Management students have gone for and what kind of job directions you might be looking at with them:

Mona Amelung

Mona Amelung, Management (M.A.)

"Behind the scenes of what you always wanted to know."

Master's degree Management: Personality is key!

FAQs about the Master's program

Who is this study program for? 

We are looking for students, who are interested in continuing and deepening their expertise and engagement in the fields of general management, business, economics, cultural and social sciences and ethics and sustainability. In regards to personality, we are looking for people with curiosity, open-mindedness and an engaged interest in our world and its further development towards a more sustainable, just and flourishing future to come.

Qualification requirements for enrolling into this consecutive master program you would need a Bachelor degree in economic or managerial sciences.

Information about all necessary application documents can be found here.

What is the teaching philosophy of the study program? 

Karls has a unique approach towards learning, didactics and education. Basically, there is not the standard, spoon-feeding lecture, but more seminars with a participatory teaching approach. Specifically, in this Master program, this is characterised by a strong emphasis on critical reflection and intensive social inter-action in small classes. Various trainings offer possibilities for developing one’s theoretical skills alongside one’s practical business oriented and managerial practices.

Correspondingly to this understanding of education Karls has already followed for many years the “Principles for Responsible ManagementEducation” as part of the UN Global Compact.

What career options do you have with a Master in Management? 

Studying a degree “Master in Management” at Karls equips students with capabilities and proficiencies required in all areas of International Management, including marketing, branding, HR consulting, analysis, CRM, coaching etc.

Moreover, for those who are interested in an academic career, there will be options for further postgraduate research at the PhD level with our partner universities.

What makes this program unique? 

The master study program “Master in Management” at Karls is among the very few English-only programs in the German speaking countries. In particular, it has an edge with its focus on a culturalist and integral perspective that aims at understanding the interplay of managerial and business studies with cultural studies and communicative disciplines as well as transformational perspectives as an interwoven nexus.

What does it cost? 

The tuition fees are the same for all of our programs: 690 €per month. Please contact our Admissions & Counseling Team if you have questions in regards to funding and scholarships: admissions(at)karlshochschule.de or +49 721 48095 777

Was sagen die Studis? Master Management an der Karls studieren

Die Karls ist eine etwas andere Uni für Menschen, die etwas anders sind, oder es sein wollen. Für Menschen, die einen Unterschied machen wollen. Der Master Management ist wie eine große Spielwiese, wo Management, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften, Theorie und Praxis, Ethik und Nachhaltigkeit zusammenkommen – und wo diese Phänomene nicht für selbstverständlich erachtet, sondern kritisch und empathisch reflektiert werden. Aber höre dir erst einmal an, was die Studis zu sagen haben!

Kai Feuchter

Kai Feuchter, Alumnus Master Management

"People always say that rethinking management is nothing but a myth; a fake claim without substance. For this Master’s that is not true. I am seriously rethinking everything!"

Was ist der Clou?

Master Management: Das Konzept

 

Es ist egal, was "wirtschaftliche Realität" für dich bedeutet. Welche Bedeutung du ihr zuschreibst. Das Zusammenspiel von Innen und Außen macht immer den Unterschied. Manchmal gehen die beiden Hand in Hand, manchmal stehen sie sich gegenüber. Jede individuelle Handlung und jede Interaktion zwischen ihnen wird performt. Wie gut oder schlecht eine solche Performance läuft, hängt vom sozialen und kulturellen Kontext ab, in dem sie stattfindet. Das ist des Pudels Kern. Auf deiner persönlichen aber auch jeder institutionellen Ebene.

In der Managementlehre herrscht immer noch die Idee vor, der Mensch könne wie eine Maschine "betrieben" werden. So ein Blödsinn! Du musst verstehen wie Menschen ticken, wie sie ihr Umfeld beeinflussen und von ihm beeinflusst werden, und wie sich die Gesellschaft als Ganzes entwickelt, um erfolgreich in dem zu sein, was du tust. Als aufstrebender junger Mensch an der Karls sollst du zwar für Management- und Führungsfunktionen in Unternehmen ausgebildet werden. Doch darüber hinaus sollst du die damit einhergehende Verantwortung auch in der Gesellschaft übernehmen. Mit dieser Qualifikation verstehst, begleitest und gestaltest du aktiv sozialen und kulturellen Wandel, egal welche Rolle du in deinem Berufsleben einnehmen möchtest.

Das bieten wir dir im Master Management. Wir füttern dich nicht einfach mit faktischem Wissen oder einer "universellen Wahrheit". Klar bekommst du Einblicke in relevante Felder, Theorien und Praktiken. Aber der Fokus liegt tatsächlich auf der Interaktion aller, die an dem Studiengang beteiligt sind. Individuelle Erfahrungen und Meinungen schätzen und diskutieren wir und arbeiten gemeinsam an ihnen weiter. Du wirst zweite und dritte Blicke auf etablierte Pfade werfen und auf Basis eines verkörperten Sinns für Verantwortung, Empathie, Nachhaltigkeit und Expertise neue schaffen. 

Master Management: Ein paar Fakten

David Sixt

David Sixt, Alumnus Master Management

"This program frequently blows my mind and then challenges but also supports me to re-assemble it. It's fascinating!"

Master Management: Die Module

Also wirklich! Wieso solltest du zwischen Generalist und Spezialist wählen müssen? Im Master Management wirst du gleichzeitig zu beidem. Für alle Studis gleich sind die General Management (hellblau) und Personal Skills (dunkelblau) Module. Dazu wählst du dir ganz individuell zwei unserer sechs Spezialisierungen (grün) hinzu: 

 

 

Detaillierte Infos zu jedem Modul findest du in den Modulbeschreibungen.

 

Study year 1  

Specialization I

5 ECTS

Specialization II

5 ECTS

Key Concepts for the Study of Management as Culture: Cultural Turns

5 ECTS

Controlling: Leading for Results

5 ECTS

Business Analysis

5 ECTS

Rhetorics and Stylistics

5 ECTS

Specialization I

5 ECTS

Specialization II

5 ECTS

Culture, Markets & Consumption

5 ECTS

Governance: Norms, Rules & Rituals

5 ECTS

Strategic Practice

5 ECTS

Power & Conflict

5 ECTS

Study year 2  

Specialization I

5 ECTS

Specialization II

5 ECTS

Innovation Project

5 ECTS

Legitimacy: Ethics & Aesthetics

5 ECTS

Business Transformation

5 ECTS

Creativity, Improvisation & Play

5 ECTS

Research Colloquium

3 ECTS

Master Thesis incl. its Defense

22 ECTS

Personal Renewal

5 ECTS
Mischa Burmester

Mischa Burmester, Alumnus Master Management

"The interconnectedness of modules within and across semesters is stunning. This Master's is definitively about 'Rethinking Management' and requires engagement on the brink of my comfort zone."

Master Management: Der Aufbau

 

Semester 1: 'Struktur'

Das erste Semester hat einen stark theoretischen Fokus mit ersten eingestreuten Links zur Praxis. Wir bauen ein gemeinsames Grundverständnis von Management auf. Dabei wird eine große Bandbreite von Konzepten vorgestellt und erarbeitet, wie Ökonomie, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften zusammenhängen und sich gegenseitig befruchten können.

Semester 2: 'Performance'

Das zweite Semester ist der Beginn eines Umschwungs von einem Theorie- zu einem Praxisfokus. Hier beginnt nun deine Rolle als Alice, die den Kaninchenbau hinunter kriecht, richtig. Du schaust über die Bühne hinaus, Backstage. Du reflektierst, was gespielt wird, wie es gespielt wird, wieso es so gespielt wird und was deine Rolle in all dem ist.

Semester 3: 'Transformation'

Im dritten Semester fokussierst du dich wirklich auf die Praxis und wie du mit ihr umgehst. Fragen ethischen Verhaltens, ästhetischen Ausdrucks, der Unklarheit und von Unschlüssigkeiten, sowie solche konstanten, aktiven Wandels sind hier zentral. Die "Kunst der Führung" wird zum Hauptaugenmerk.

Semester 4: 'Forschung'

Das vierte Semester dreht sich ganz um deine Masterthesis, die Theorie und Praxis zusammenführt. Du reflektierst, was du gelernt und zu lieben gelernt hast und fügst deine Erfahrung(en) in diesem abschließenden Werk zusammen. Es geht genau so sehr darum, andere zu inspirieren, wie auch selbst inspiriert zu werden.

Stelle dir alle Module, horizontal wie vertikal, wie ein Orchester vor. Sie harmonieren miteinander, sind aufeinander eingespielt, und nur zusammen entfalten sie ihr volles Potential. Du lernst, Verbindungen zwischen den einzelnen Instrumenten zu erkennen, zwischen einzelnen Noten, und übst, sie selbst zu arrangieren.

Master Management: Die Spezialisierungen

Wenn du uns fragst, kommt es bei der Wahl deiner Spezialisierungen hauptsächlich auf dein Bauchgefühl an. Letzten Endes geht es darum, was dich als Mensch interessiert. Was fühlt sich richtig an? Worin bist du gut? Worüber willst du noch mehr wissen?

Aber lass uns dir dennoch ein paar Anhaltspunkte geben. Hier sind Impressionen der beliebtesten Kombinationen, die unsere Master Management Studis gewählt haben, und in welche Richtungen du damit beruflich gehen könntest:

Mona Amelung

Mona Amelung, Management (M.A.)

"Behind the scenes of what you always wanted to know."

Master Management: Der Schlüssel ist deine Persönlichkeit!

FAQs zum Master-Studiengang

Für wen ist dieses Studienprogramm gedacht? 

Wir suchen Studierende, die ihr Fachwissen und Engagement in den Bereichen General Management, Betriebs- und Volkswirtschaft, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Ethik und Nachhaltigkeit fortsetzen und vertiefen wollen. In Bezug auf die Persönlichkeit suchen wir Menschen mit Neugierde, Aufgeschlossenheit und einem engagierten Interesse an unserer Welt und ihrer Weiterentwicklung hin zu einer nachhaltigeren, gerechteren und blühenden Zukunft.

Qualifikationsvoraussetzungen für die Einschreibung in diesen konsekutiven Masterstudiengang wäre ein Bachelor-Abschluss in Wirtschafts- oder Managementwissenschaften.

Informationen zu allen notwendigen Bewerbungsunterlagen finden Sie hier.

Was ist die Lehrphilosophie des Studienprogramms? 

Karls hat einen einzigartigen Ansatz in Bezug auf Lernen, Didaktik und Bildung. Grundsätzlich gibt es nicht die übliche, löffelförmige Vorlesung, sondern eher Seminare mit einem partizipativen Lehransatz. Konkret zeichnet sich dies in diesem Masterstudiengang durch eine starke Betonung der kritischen Reflexion und intensiven sozialen Interaktion in kleinen Klassen aus. Verschiedene Trainings bieten die Möglichkeit, sich neben den theoretischen Fähigkeiten auch praktisch in der Wirtschaft zu betätigen.

Diesem Bildungsverständnis entsprechend orientiert sich Karls bereits seit vielen Jahren an den "Principles for Responsible Management Education" als Teil des UN Global Compact.

Welche Karrieremöglichkeiten hat man mit einem Master in Management? 

Das Studium "Master in Management" bei Karls vermittelt Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten, die in allen Bereichen des internationalen Managements benötigt werden, wie z.B. Marketing, Branding, Personalberatung, Analyse, CRM, Coaching etc.

Darüber hinaus gibt es für diejenigen, die an einer akademischen Karriere interessiert sind, Optionen für weitere postgraduale Forschung auf der PhD-Ebene mit unseren Partneruniversitäten.

Was macht dieses Programm einzigartig? 

Der Masterstudiengang "Master in Management" an der Karls gehört zu den wenigen rein englischsprachigen Programmen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Es zeichnet sich insbesondere durch die Fokussierung auf eine kulturalistische und integrale Perspektive aus, die darauf abzielt, das Zusammenspiel von Management- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften mit kulturwissenschaftlichen und kommunikativen Disziplinen sowie transformatorischen Perspektiven in einem verwobenen Nexus zu verstehen.

Was kostet das Programm? 

Die Studiengebühren sind für alle unsere Programme gleich: 690 € pro Monat. Bitte kontaktieren Sie unser Admissions & Counseling Team, wenn Sie Fragen zur Finanzierung und zu Stipendien haben: admissions(at)karlshochschule.de oder +49 721 48095 777